No. S 5
Currency Act
Currency (Amendment) Regulations 2017
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 28 of the Currency Act, the Monetary Authority of Singapore makes the following Regulations:
Citation and commencement
1.  These Regulations are the Currency (Amendment) Regulations 2017 and come into operation on 9 January 2017.
Amendment of regulation 3
2.  Regulation 3 of the Currency Regulations (Rg 1) is amended —
(a)by deleting “$3” in paragraph (1) and substituting “$3.50”; and
(b)by deleting paragraphs (3) and (4) and substituting the following paragraphs:
(3)  Paragraph (1) does not apply in relation to the “Orchid”, “Bird” and “Ship” series of notes first issued between 12 June 1967 and 18 May 1995 (both dates inclusive).
(4)  Paragraph (2) does not apply in relation to —
(a)the series of coins first issued on 20 November 1967;
(b)the series of 5‑cent coins issued on 2 December 1985 and 11 June 2013; and
(c)the series of 1‑cent coins issued on 28 September 1987.”.
New regulation 4
3.  The Currency Regulations are amended by inserting, immediately after regulation 3, the following regulation:
Waiver or reduction of fees
4.  The Authority may, either generally or in a particular event or case or class of cases, waive or reduce any fee payable under regulation 3.”.
[G.N. Nos. S 102/97; S 386/99; S 234/2004; S 57/2011]
Made on 3 January 2017.
Managing Director,
Monetary Authority of Singapore.
[MAS 09/06/003-01 V04; AG/LEGIS/SL/69/2015/2 Vol. 1]