No. S 512
Electricity Act
(Electricity Licences) (Exemption)
Order 2017
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 8 of the Electricity Act, the Energy Market Authority of Singapore, with the approval of the Minister for Trade and Industry (Industry), makes the following Order:
1.  This Order is the Electricity (Electricity Licences) (Exemption) Order 2017.
2.  In this Order —
“EDB” means the Economic Development Board established under section 3 of the Economic Development Board Act (Cap. 85);
“exemption period” means the period starting on 15 September 2017 and ending on —
(a)28 February 2021; or
(b)any earlier date of termination of the Project Agreement;
“NTU” means the company limited by guarantee incorporated under the Companies Act (Cap. 50) under the name “Nanyang Technological University”;
“Project Agreement” means the agreement relating to the REIDS initiative entered into between NTU and EDB on 19 April 2016;
“REIDS initiative” means the initiative on Pulau Semakau known as “Renewable Energy Integration Demonstrator‑Singapore”.
Exemption from section 6(1)(a), (b), (c) and (e) of Act
3.  Section 6(1)(a), (b), (c) and (e) of the Act does not apply to NTU in respect of the following activities carried out by NTU during the exemption period on Pulau Semakau in connection with the REIDS initiative:
(a)the generation, transmission and retail of electricity;
(b)the provision of market support services.
Made on 7 September 2017.
Energy Market Authority of Singapore.
[RD/50101/14; AG/LEGIS/SL/89A/2015/1 Vol. 1]