Fire Service Act
(Chapter 110, Section 32)
Fire Service Welfare Fund Regulations
Rg 1
(25th March 1992)
[1st October 1981]
1.  These Regulations may be cited as the Fire Service Welfare Fund Regulations.
2.  In these Regulations —
“committee” means the Management Committee established under regulation 3(1);
“Fund” means the Fire Service Welfare Fund established under section 12(1) of the Act;
“member of the Singapore Fire Service” or “member” means any fire officer and includes a person employed in the repair and maintenance section of the Singapore Fire Service.
Management Committee
3.—(1)  The Fund shall be administered by a committee to be known as the Management Committee.
(2)  The committee shall consist of —
(a)a Chairman, who shall be the Director of Fire Service, or, in his absence, the person for the time being performing the duties of the Director;
(b)a Secretary, appointed by the Director from among the members of the Singapore Fire Service;
(c)a Treasurer, appointed by the Director from among persons serving in the Administration and Finance Section of the Singapore Fire Service; and
(d)4 other members, appointed by the Director from among the senior officers of the Singapore Fire Service. In this sub-paragraph “senior officer” means any fire officer holding the rank of Assistant Divisional Officer and above.
(3)  The committee may pay to the Treasurer an honorarium of such amount as may be approved by the committee.
Application of Fund
4.  The committee shall apply the Fund in such manner as it thinks fit for the following objects:
(a)to reward members for outstanding service;
(b)to make purchases of goods not exceeding $50 for members who have been admitted to a hospital as a result of injuries sustained in the course of their duties;
(c)to grant loans to members without any interest; and
(d)for such other purposes as may be approved by the Minister.
Limit of expenditure
5.  The Chairman may approve any expenditure not exceeding $200.
Meetings of committee
6.—(1)  The committee may meet as often as is necessary but not less than once in every 3 months.
(2)  The committee has power —
(a)to determine the amount of the reward that may be given to members for outstanding service;
(b)to approve any expenditure exceeding $200;
(c)to consider applications for loans from members; and
(d)to discuss such other matters relating to the administration and management of the Fund and the discharge of the duties of the committee.
7.  The Chairman shall preside at all meetings of the committee, and the Secretary shall record the proceedings of the meetings of the committee in a minute-book.
Duties of Treasurer
8.  The Treasurer shall —
(a)be responsible for the up-to-date maintenance of all books and records pertaining to the Fund;
(b)take custody of all moneys received from all sources, bank them and make disbursements in accordance with the directions of the committee;
(c)make all payments in excess of $50 by cheques. Every cheque shall be signed by the Chairman and the Treasurer or any member nominated by the committee;
(d)maintain a petty cash imprest of $50 for incidental expenses; and
(e)with the approval of the committee, invest any moneys of the Fund in fixed deposits in any bank approved by the committee. The interests accruing therefrom shall be treated as donations to the Fund.
Loans from Fund
9.—(1)  Any member or retired fire officer may apply to the committee for a loan from the Fund.
(2)  The committee in granting any loan under paragraph (1) may impose such terms and conditions as it thinks fit.
(3)  In this regulation, “retired fire officer” means a fire officer who has retired from the Singapore Fire Service on any ground other than on the ground of public interest.
Financial year
10.  The financial year of the Fund shall be from 1st April to 31st March of the following year.
Audit of accounts
11.—(1)  The accounts of the Fund shall be audited in the month of May at the end of each financial year by two members appointed by the committee.
(2)  A member appointed by the committee under paragraph (1) shall not hold office for more than two years consecutively.