# EXTRADITION ACT 1968 (SECTION 6)

## EXTRADITION (COMMONWEALTH TERRITORIES) DECLARATION 2007

#### ARRANGEMENT OF PARAGRAPHS

#### Paragraph

- 1. Citation
- 2. Declaration of Commonwealth territories
- 3. Modification of Act
  The Schedule

[15 August 2007]

#### Citation

1. This Declaration is the Extradition (Commonwealth Territories)
Declaration 2007.

## **Declaration of Commonwealth territories**

**2.** The states or territories specified in the Schedule to this Declaration are declared to be Commonwealth territories for the purposes of the Act.

#### **Modification of Act**

**3.**—(1) The Act (except for Part 6) applies in relation to a country specified in the Schedule that is a non-member of UNTOC as if an UNTOC offence is not an extradition offence.

- (2) In this paragraph
  - "non-member of UNTOC" means a state or territory specified in the Schedule that is not —
    - (a) a party to UNTOC; or
    - (b) a state or territory to which UNTOC applies or is extended;
  - "serious crime", "organised criminal group" and "transnational" have the meanings given to them in UNTOC;
  - "UNTOC" means the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organised Crime, done at New York on 15 November 2000;
  - "UNTOC offence" means an offence against the law of a non-member of UNTOC where the act or omission constituting the offence or the equivalent act or omission —
    - (a) would, if it took place within the jurisdiction of Singapore, constitute any of the following:
      - (i) abetment of a serious crime, where the serious crime is transnational in nature and involves an organised criminal group;
      - (ii) criminal conspiracy to commit a serious crime, where the serious crime is transnational in nature and involves an organised criminal group; or
    - (b) would be such an offence if the description concerned contained a reference to any intent or state of mind on the part of the person committing the offence, or to any circumstance of aggravation, necessary to constitute the offence.

## THE SCHEDULE

Paragraphs 2 and 3 Australia Bahamas Barbados Belize Bermuda Botswana British Indian Ocean Territory Canada Cyprus Falkland Islands Fiji Gambia Ghana Gibraltar India Jamaica Kenya Kiribati Lesotho Malawi Malta Mauritius New Zealand Nigeria Pakistan Papua New Guinea Pitcairn Islands Seychelles

Sierra Leone

## THE SCHEDULE — continued

Sri Lanka

St. Helena and dependencies

Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tuvalu

Uganda

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands and Isle of Man

United Republic of Tanzania

Vanuatu

Virgin Islands

Zambia