First published in the Government Gazette, Electronic Edition, on 4th June 1999 at 5:00 pm.

## No. S 261

# INTERPRETATION ACT (CHAPTER 1)

# DELEGATION OF POWERS (MINISTRY OF FINANCE) NOTIFICATION 1999

### ARRANGEMENT OF PARAGRAPHS

## Paragraph

- 1. Citation and commencement
- 2. Definitions
- 3. Officers deputed to exercise certain budgetary powers
- 4. Persons deputed to exercise Minister's other powers under various Acts
- 5. Consequential amendments
  The Schedule

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 36 of the Interpretation Act, the Minister for Finance, with the approval of the President, hereby makes the following Notification:

### Citation and commencement

1. This Notification may be cited as the Delegation of Powers (Ministry of Finance) Notification 1999 and shall be deemed to have come into operation on 1st November 1998.

## **Definitions**

- **2.** For the purposes of this Notification
  - "accounting officer" means any public officer who is appointed by any Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Finance to account for the management of Funds voted under specified heads of the estimates of expenditure;
  - "Approving Authority" means any person or committee authorised by the Minister for Finance to consider and

approve proposals involving expenditure chargeable to the Development Estimates;

"Establishment List" means the list laid before Parliament under section 17 (2) of the Financial Procedure Act (Cap. 109).

## Officers deputed to exercise certain budgetary powers

- **3.**—(1) The Minister for Finance, with the approval of the President, hereby deputes any accounting officer to exercise the power conferred upon the Minister by section 4 (2) of the Development Fund Act (Cap. 80) except where the transfer of funds is for the purpose of supplementing or creating a subhead which relates to loans or capital grants or to any expenditure not previously approved by any Approving Authority.
- (2) The Minister for Finance, with the approval of the President, hereby also deputes
  - (a) the Permanent Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries, Directors and Deputy Directors of the Ministry of Finance to exercise the powers conferred by section 17 (3) of the Financial Procedure Act (Cap. 109) in respect of all posts in the Establishment List except political appointments; and
  - (b) the accounting officers of all Ministries and Organs of State to exercise the powers conferred by section (17) (3) of the Financial Procedure Act except that
    - (i) the addition or alteration to the Establishment List shall not result in an increase in the total number of political appointments whose salaries and other emoluments are to be met from the allocations of funds under the head of expenditure; and
    - (ii) the addition or alteration to the Establishment List shall not result in an increase in the total expenditure under the head of expenditure.

# Persons deputed to exercise Minister's other powers under various Acts

**4.** The Minister for Finance, with the approval of the President, hereby deputes the persons and public officers set out in the first column of the Schedule to exercise the powers of the Minister set out in the second column thereof.

# Consequential amendments

- **5.**—(1) The Delegation of Powers (Ministry of Finance) Notification (N 2) and the Delegation of Powers (Ministry of Finance) (No.2) Notification (N 4) are cancelled.
- (2) The Schedule to the Delegation of Powers (Consolidation) Notification (N 3) is amended by deleting the heading "MINISTRY OF FINANCE" and all the entries relating thereto.
- (3) The Schedule to the Delegation of Powers (Consolidation) Notification (N 7) is amended by deleting the heading "MINISTRY OF FINANCE" and the entry relating thereto.
- (4) The Schedule to the Delegation of Powers (Consolidation) Notification (N 9) is amended by deleting the heading "MINISTRY OF FINANCE" and all the entries relating thereto.
- (5) The Delegation of Powers (Ministry of Finance) (No. 2) Notification 1998 (G.N. No. S 295/98) is cancelled.

## THE SCHEDULE

		Paragraph 4
First Colum	ın	Second Column
(1) Minister for Tr Industry	ade and	Section 7 (3) (e) of the Financial Procedure Act (Cap. 109) in relation to the investment of moneys in EDB Investments Pte. Ltd.
(2) Minister of Stat of Trade and In	•	All provisions of the Free Trade Zones Act (Cap. 114) except sections 11 (2) and 24 thereof.
(3) Permanent Sec Ministry of Fir	• /	Section 14 of the Entertainments Duty Act (Cap. 94).

### THE SCHEDULE — continued

### First Column

#### Second Column

- (b) Sections 4 (4), 13 (2), 63 (2) and (3) of the Customs Act (Cap. 70).
- (c) Sections 2 (5) and 6 (7) of the Property Tax Act (Cap. 254).
- (*d*) Section 4 (4) of the Cinematograph Film Hire Duty Act (Cap. 40).
- (e) Section 4 (4) of the Coin Act (Cap. 46).
- (f) Section 50 (5) of the Goods and Services Tax Act (Cap. 177A).
- (g) (i) Section 14 (2) of the Land Transport Authority of Singapore Act (Cap. 158A).
  - (ii) Section 15 of the Financial Procedure Act (Cap. 109) in respect of any agreement of the Government guaranteeing the repayment of moneys borrowed or raised by the Land Transport Authority of Singapore under section 14 (2) of the Land Transport Authority of Singapore Act (Cap. 158A).

- (4) Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence
  - investment of moneys in local companies registered under the Companies Act (Cap. 50) and authorised by the President.
- (5) Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Accountant-General
- Section 7 (3) of the Financial Procedure Act.

Section 7 (3) (e) of the Financial Procedure Act in relation to the

# THE SCHEDULE — continued

First Column	Second Column
(6) Accountant-General	Section 4 and 8 of the Financial Procedure Act.
(7) Deputy Secretaries, Ministry of Finance	Section 8 (1) of the Stamp Duties Act (Cap. 312).
(8) Principal Accountant, Ministry of Education	Section 4 of the Financial Procedure Act insofar as the School Fund is concerned.
(9) Permanent Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries, Directors and Deputy Directors of the Ministry of Finance and the accounting officers of all Ministries and Organs of State	Section 17 (4) of the Financial Procedure Act.
(10) Director (Taxation),	Section 6 (5A) and (5B) of the

Made this 3rd day of June 1999.

Ministry of Finance

NGIAM TONG DOW Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Singapore.

Property Tax Act (Cap. 254).

[MF G608.090.98; AG/LEG/SL/1/98/2 Vol. 1]