First published in the Government Gazette, Electronic Edition, on at

No. S 536

TOWN COUNCILS ACT (CHAPTER 329A)

TOWN COUNCILS (EXCLUSION OF PROPERTY FROM TOWN COUNCILS) ORDER 2008

ARRANGEMENT OF PARAGRAPHS

Paragraph

- 1. Citation and commencement
- 2. Non-application of Act to certain properties
- 3. Exclusion of property
- 4. Revocation

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 2(2)(c) of the Town Councils Act, the Minister for National Development hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Town Councils (Exclusion of Property from Town Councils) Order 2008 and shall come into operation on 1st November 2008.

Non-application of Act to certain properties

- **2.**—(1) The Act shall not apply to the following properties of the Board which are located within any Town:
 - (a) reserved sites;
 - (b) viewing galleries;
 - (c) blocks of flats which are wholly vacant and affected by the relocation and redevelopment scheme of the Board;
 - (d) blocks of flats and land under new development;
 - (e) blocks of flats which are wholly vacant and unsold;

- (f) nurseries;
- (g) town parks;
- (h) rehabilitation projects of the Board;
- (i) holiday bungalows owned by the Board;
- (j) land leased by the Board to any person as a site for a temple, church, cinema, bus depot, bus interchange, MRT station, school, training school, community centre, swimming pool, electrical sub-station. electrical sub-depot, sub-store, water treatment plant, transport centre, funeral parlour, reburial ground, car park, bungalow, shop house, bin auto-centre. telecommunications exchange, centre. telecommunications postal complex, clinic, factory, fast food centre, recreational centre, transport centre, private condominium housing, squash and tennis court, bowling alley, petrol kiosk, automated teller machine or multimedia kiosk;
- (k) land leased by the Board to any person as a site for commercial or residential development or redevelopment, or for a mixed development or redevelopment comprising a combination of commercial and residential units;
- (1) land licensed by the Board to any person as a site for a taxi kiosk, public telephone or outdoor refreshment area;
- (m) land leased by the Board to any person for use by any association; and
- (n) park connector networks which traverse any part of the land belonging to the Board.
- (2) In sub-paragraph (1)(j), "multimedia kiosk" includes any device that facilitates online transactions such as status updates, purchases, payments and fund transfers.

Exclusion of property

3. The Act shall also not apply to the following properties of the Board:

- (1) The Town of Bishan-Toa Payoh
 - (a) HDB Hub; and
 - (b) HDB Learning Centre.
- (2) The Town of Holland-Bukit Panjang
 - (a) Fajar Shopping Centre;
 - (b) Greenridge Shopping Centre; and
 - (c) Housing and Development Board Queenstown Workshop.

[S 265/2010 wef 06/05/2010]

- (3) The Town of Hong Kah
 - (a) Gek Poh Shopping Centre;
 - (b) Limbang Shopping Centre;
 - (c) Yew Tee Square; and

[S 265/2010 wef 06/05/2010]

- (d) Sunshine Place.
- (4) The Town of Jalan Besar
 - (a) Kitchener Complex;
 - (b) New Bridge Centre at Block 336 Smith Street;
 - (c) land licensed by the Board to any person for use as a trishaw park; and
 - (d) Bras Basah Complex, other than the bin compound, dry risers, underground pipes, manholes; fifth storey roof deck, the main down-pipes from the residential flats and the 4 switch rooms serving residential blocks 232 and 233 Bain Street.

[S 265/2010 wef 01/04/2010]

- (5) The Town of Marine Parade
 - (a) Geylang Serai Malay Village; and
 - (b) Blocks 1 and 2 of Joo Chiat Complex at Joo Chiat Road, other than the central and appurtenant installations therein for sanitation, the service road

leading to the multi-storey car park, the bin compound located at Block 2 and the loading and unloading bays located at Block 2.

(6) The Town of Jurong

Taman Jurong Shopping Centre.

- (7) The Town of Pasir Ris-Punggol
 - (a) Elias Mall;
 - (b) Loyang Point;
 - (c) Pasir Ris West Plaza;
 - (d) Rivervale Plaza; and
 - (e) Punggol Plaza.
- (8) The Town of Sembawang
 - (a) Yishun Neighbourhood 2, Neighbourhood Park;
 - (b) Sembawang bungalows;
 - (c) columbaria and crematoria;
 - (d) Woodlands North Plaza;
 - (e) 888 Plaza;
 - (f) Vista Point;
 - (g) Woodlands Mart;
 - (h) Sembawang Mart; and
 - (i) Block 678A and ground floor of Block 678, Admiralty Place, at Woodlands Avenue 6 and the central and appurtenant installations therein (other than pump room, switch-room, and the letter box area at the ground floor of Block 678); the concourse fronting Blocks 678A and 678; and the service road leading to Blocks 678A and 678.
- (9) The Town of Tampines

Tampines Central Community Complex.

(10) The Town of Tanjong Pagar

- (a) [Deleted by S 265/2010 wef 6/5/2010]
- (b) Connection One, formerly known as "HDB Centre"; and
- (c) Dawson Place.
- (11) The Town of West Coast
 - (a) Pasir Panjang Wholesale Centre; and
 - (b) Pioneer Mall.

[S 265/2010 wef 06/05/2010]

Revocation

4. The Town Councils (Exclusion of Property from Town Councils) Order (O 3) is revoked.

Made this 20th day of October 2008.

TAN TEE HOW

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of National Development, Singapore.

[ND311/4-146 Pt. 20; AG/LEG/SL/329A/2006/1 Vol. 1]