No. S 607
Workplace Safety and Health Act
(Chapter 354A)
Workplace Safety and Health (Abrasive Blasting) Regulations 2008
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 65 of the Workplace Safety and Health Act, Mr Gan Kim Yong, Senior Minister of State, charged with the responsibility of the Minister for Manpower, hereby makes the following Regulations:
Citation and commencement
1.  These Regulations may be cited as the Workplace Safety and Health (Abrasive Blasting) Regulations 2008 and shall come into operation on 1st February 2009.
2.  In these Regulations, unless the context otherwise requires —
“abrasive” means any material used or intended to be used for blasting, and includes metal shot or grit but does not include water;
“blasting” means the cleaning, smoothing, roughening, cutting, preparation or removal of the surface or part of the surface of any building, ship or article using an abrasive propelled or blasted against the building, ship or article by compressed air or steam, by a wheel or by any similar means, excluding hydro-jetting;
“blasting cabinet” means a blasting enclosure where the person carrying out blasting does so from outside the enclosure;
“blasting chamber” means a type of permanent blasting enclosure into which persons may enter;
“blasting enclosure” means any chamber, cabinet or other structure, whether temporary or permanent, designed —
(a)to enclose or accommodate articles being blasted; and
(b)to isolate or minimise hazards of dusts or debris generated by blasting,
being a chamber, cabinet or structure that is used only for the purpose of blasting;
“competent person” means a person who has sufficient experience and training to perform the work required to be carried out;
“device” means a separator, grit recycling unit, dust collector, filter, condensate trap or any other apparatus or machine used in connection with the process of blasting.
3.  These Regulations shall apply in relation to all workplaces in which abrasive blasting is carried out.
Made this 24th day of November 2008.
Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Manpower,
[OSHD/C010-048-00002; AG/LEG/SL/354A/2006/9 Vol. 1]
(To be presented to Parliament under section 65(8) of the Workplace Safety and Health Act).