Official languages and national language
153A.—(1)  Malay, Mandarin, Tamil and English shall be the 4 official languages in Singapore.
(2)  The national language shall be the Malay language and shall be in the Roman script:
Provided that —
(a)no person shall be prohibited or prevented from using or from teaching or learning any other language; and
(b)nothing in this Article shall prejudice the right of the Government to preserve and sustain the use and study of the language of any other community in Singapore.