No. S 421
Road Traffic Act
Road Traffic
(Temasek Shophouse Event)
(Exemption) Order 2019
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 142 of the Road Traffic Act, the Minister for Transport makes the following Order:
1.  This Order is the Road Traffic (Temasek Shophouse Event) (Exemption) Order 2019.
2.  In this Order —
“e‑trishaw” means a three‑wheeled pedal cycle that —
(a)is constructed or adapted for the carriage of passengers;
(b)is equipped with an electric motor; and
(c)may be propelled by human power or by the electric motor with which it is equipped, or by both;
“Temasek Shophouse Event” means the event known as the Official Opening of Temasek Shophouse conducted on the specified roads on 3 June 2019 from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m.;
“organiser” means the company incorporated under the Companies Act (Cap. 50) as Cycling Without Age Singapore Ltd. (UEN No. 201714757N);
“specified e‑trishaw” means any e‑trishaw that is used by the organiser for the purpose of the Temasek Shophouse Event;
“specified roads” means the roads that are shaded blue in the map set out in the First Schedule.
Exemption for the use of specified e‑trishaws
3.  Sections 5(1) and (5), 10(1), 15 and 29(1) and (4) of the Act, and the rules specified in the Second Schedule, do not apply to the use by any person authorised by the organiser of a specified e‑trishaw for the purpose of the Temasek Shophouse Event, if all of the following conditions are satisfied:
(a)the specified e‑trishaw is used only on the rightmost lane of any of the specified roads;
(b)the specified e‑trishaw is used only by any rider authorised by the organiser;
(c)the specified e‑trishaw is not ridden at a speed exceeding 25 km/h;
(d)no more than 10 specified e‑trishaws are used at any time on all the specified roads;
(e)the specified e‑trishaw is used to carry, at any time, no more than one rider and 2 passengers, but not for reward;
(f)all passengers on the specified e‑trishaw are safely secured;
(g)the specified e‑trishaw is not used to carry goods for hire or reward.
Made on 3 June 2019.
Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Transport,
[MOT.LT.; AG/LEGIS/SL/276/2015/90 Vol. 1]