Currency Bill

Bill No. 5/1967

Read the first time on 27th February 1967.
An Act to establish the Board of Commissioners of Currency, Singapore, and the National Currency of Singapore and to provide for matters connected therewith.
Be it enacted by the President with the advice and consent of the Parliament of Singapore, as follows: —
Short title and commencement
1.—(1)  This Act may be cited as the Currency Act, 1967, and shall come into operation on such date as the President may, by notification in the Gazette, appoint.
(2)  The President may appoint different dates for the coming into operation of different provisions or Parts of this Act.
2.  In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires —
“Board” means the Board of Commissioners of Currency, Singapore, established by section 3 of this Act;
“Commissioners” means the Board of Commissioners of Currency, Malaya and British Borneo, reconstituted in accordance with the terms of the 1960 Currency Agreement;
“foreign” means pertaining to a country other than Singapore;
“foreign exchange” means foreign currencies and claims in and to foreign currencies;
“issue” includes re-issue;
“the 1960 Currency Agreement” means the Malaya British Borneo Currency Agreement, 1960.