No. S 243
Town Councils Act
Town Councils (Governance)
Rules 2017
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 57(1) of the Town Councils Act, the Minister for National Development makes the following Rules:
Citation and commencement
1.  These Rules are the Town Councils (Governance) Rules 2017 and come into operation on 23 May 2017.
2.  In these Rules, “Form” means a form set out in the First Schedule and a form referred to by a number means the form so numbered in that Schedule.
Form of declaration of acceptance of office or appointment
3.  For the purposes of sections 9(11), 13(4), 14(10), 20(1B) and (4), and 31(5) of the Act, a declaration of acceptance of an office or an appointment of a Town Council, mentioned in the table below, must be in the form mentioned opposite in that table.
Office or appointment
Form 1
Form 2
3.Elected member
Form 3
4.Appointed member
Form 4
Form 5
6.Relevant key officer
Form 6
7.Committee member
Form 7
Form of register of interests
4.  For the purposes of section 15(2)(a) of the Act, the secretary to a Town Council must maintain and keep a register of interests, in the form set out in the Second Schedule, for each member of the Town Council who makes a disclosure of a conflict of interest.
Allowances payable to members
5.—(1)  Subject to paragraph (2), the monthly allowance payable to a chairman, vice‑chairman or any other member of a Town Council is an amount fixed by the Town Council.
(2)  For the purposes of section 16(1) of the Act, the allowance paid to a chairman, vice-chairman or member of a Town Council managing a number of equivalent dwelling units specified in the Third Schedule must not exceed the amount specified in that Schedule for the office and opposite the number.
(3)  For the purposes of paragraph (2), the number of equivalent dwelling units managed by a Town Council is ascertained by the formula A × number of units, where A is —
(a)1 for residential property unit;
(b)2 for commercial property unit; and
(c)2 for market or food stall.
6.  The Town Councils (Allowances for Chairman and Members) Rules (R 3) are revoked.
Made on 19 May 2017.
Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of National Development,
[ND 311/4-146 Pt59; AG/LEGIS/SL/329A/2015/26 Vol. 1]
(To be presented to Parliament under section 57(3) of the Town Councils Act).